The African Parliamentary Union (APU), ex-Union of African Parliaments, is a continental interparliamentary organization set up in Abidjan on 13th February, 1976. Its Statutes have been modified and adopted on 8 November 2016 on the occasion of the 39th Conference held in Rabat (Morocco). It aims particularly :

to bring together the parliamentary institutions of all African States;;

to encourage contacts among African Parliamentarians, on the one hand, and between African Parliamentarians and Parliamentarians of other continents, on the other hand ;

to contribute to the strengthening of the parliamentary institution in Africa, the promotion of democracy, and the realization of the objectives of the African Union for the establishment of a lasting peace

The APU is and will remain a privileged framework for parliamentary dialogue and for promoting peace, democracy, good governance, sustainable development and social progress in Africa. For this purpose, it holds annual conferences in order to discuss these matters and also organizes parliamentary meetings in cooperation with International Organizations or Institutions. At present, 40 National parliaments are members of the APU. The working languages of the Union are English, Arabic, French and portuguese. The APU Headquarters is in Abidjan. A Headquarters Agreement was signed on January 7th, 1983, between the Republic of Côte d'Ivoire and the African Parliamentary Union, ex-Union of African Parliaments.

Contact :
African Parliamentary Union
30 Roume Bd., « Plateau » district.
P.O. Box V 314 Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire.
Phone : (225) 20 30 39 70 to 74 20 30 39 79 ( Secretary-General's office )
Telecopy : (225) 20 30 44 05 to 09 E.Mail :
upa1@aviso.ci upa2@aviso.ci



Contact: African Parliamentary Union P.O. Box V 314 Abidjan - Cote d'Ivoire Tel.: (225) 20 30 39 70 to 74 (225) 20 30 39 79